BC Boards

In the interest of the WORKING Border Collie

Britta

I'd like to respect the privacy of the ABCA Thread but can't keep stumm.

As most people know i'm very new to the world of Border Collies, hence my idas have a questionmark above them.

I too read all the proposals and to me it appears that the future ban is the most popular as it upsets the least people.

If the working ability of the dogs is in question should the 2 tier option not be the chosen one?

I have two unregistered spayed Border Collies. BUT theoretically, if they were intact:

1) I get the herding bug (fact),

2)we get really good at it (fiction),

3)why do i need the dogs to be registered ? I could compete in all but National & International Trials (dream on), and should i get THAT good my dogs would get registered on merit!

4)If i want to breed them, only if they are that good, should i consider it anyway.

Maybe it's different in America, but if trials are open to all why the worry about loosing members? Does a dog have to be registered with the ABCA to trial?

If you are not stopping people doing what working dogs are supposed to do that should be the only worry.

While i can see the huge popularity of agility, obedience, flyball and don't want to knock them, if these dogs could have a grade B membership that seems more than fair to me in a working registry. An owner and more so a breeder should be forced to decide where his/her priorities lie, and a 2 tier system would force people to chose.

Only working ability should come into this???

Britta

PS: Living where i do i do not think that it is the working Border Collie that needs to change its name,... - but we've discussed that before. (Since the AKC likes titles, maybe they can call their breed 'Border Collie AKC' Sounds very flashy smile.gif ???)

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hello Britta,