BC Boards

Puppy with CHD & getting a 2nd dog

Hello. My BC puppy (8 months) has recently been diagnosed with CHD in both hips. I had been planning on getting another BC once he turned at least 2 years old but now that I know that he's got pretty bad hips I've been thinking about getting a less active, low-energy breed. I've also thought about adopting an adult dog, though that may be a bit more challenging. Which breeds would you guys recommend? And is getting a 2nd dog even a good idea? I have no prior experience with hip dysplasia, would they even be able to play? :( 

Thank you in advance! 

I'm always torn on these types of things, let the dog live and do what it can for now even if it isn't the best for it or put it in a "bubble" to extend its life.  I think I would want to live and romp and be free even if it meant less years on this planet.  Will/can your dog still play?  Does it like playing with other dogs in its current state?

Sorry, I don't have much help to offer but they do make doggy wheelchairs and it's a game changer!  Life can continue.

20181111_104730.jpg

Rusty is never left out of the fun!  He has two border collies brothers.  ...the giant schnauzer is one of the BC's girlfriends, lol

20181013_165542.jpg

Aidan, I'm sorry for your dog's diagnosis. How affected is he by the HD? 

I'd take my questions to the vet that diagnosed him. If he's going to be seriously limited, check around your area for a vet who does rehabilitation. If you live near a major urban/suburban center, chances are better for that. If you live near a university that has a veterinary school, that would be good also.   And by near, I mean within an hour's drive or so.  Your veterinarian might be able to guide you in this.

I hope you find some answers.

Ruth & Gibbs

What Ruth said.  And the "how affected" is VERY important.