BC Boards

US West Coast trials, breeders, and contacts

I live in the SF Bay Area, and I'm not looking to get my Border Collie for a couple more years (I'm a college student!) but I really want to start making contacts and forming a network. Partially to hear about upcoming litters, but also just because I want to invest in a BC network. I'd love recommendations of any herding classes or instructors in the bay area, or any breeders, trials I should attend, or honestly, anyone I should talk to. The breeder I love only breeds every 5 years or so and her next litter is looking like late 2018, and that is likely too soon for me, so I'm just trying to make contacts for pups and in general, talk to people, and expand my BC knowledge!

If you go to the USBCHA website, you can get a listing of sanctioned trials with contact information. You'll have to scroll and pick out which trials aRe located close enough to you.

Sorry to not be more helpful but I'm having to answer on my phone.

Welcome!

Check out the Northern California Working Sheepdog Association (NCWSA) at http://norcalsheepdog.org. There are three trials and one clinic coming up this month! This weekend and next are two trials hosted by Tom and LisAnn Spencer at their wonderful farm near Elk Grove - directions can be found on the entry forms on the website. For a longer expedition but well worth the drive, Geri Byrne is hosting the famous Dry Lake (Little Horse Mountain) trial during the four days over Memorial Day weekend. I'll be there, as will scads of working border collie folk from all over the West.

You'll find lots of friendly people and dogs at these events. No admission is charged. Bring a chair, nourishment, binoculars, shade and appropriate clothing for the weather. Most handlers are more than willing to talk about their dogs (often at great length!) but don't approach them just before or just after their run.

I'm happy to answer any other questions you may have - hope to see you around!

Take care,