BC Boards

I'm considering getting a Border Collie

I have been wanting to get a border collie for years and I finally feel like I might be in position to do so. I have done a ton of research on the breed, but I still have some questions relating to my particular situation. I am a college student living in a townhouse and my landlord has already approved me having a Border Collie here. My landlord actually used to live here too and he had his dog living with us. She was a black lab/husky mix and she did pretty well living in this environment. I ended up taking a lot of the responsibility for taking care of her. She was high energy, so I feel like that gives me some good experience with an energetic dog.

Anyway, I have a pretty open schedule so I can commit to 1.5 to 2 hours per day of exercising and training a dog. I would have to leave the dog home alone an average of 5 to 6 hours per day, though I do have two roommates so he/she wouldn't necessarily be alone that whole time. There is an enclosed dog park pretty close by that I would go to on a daily basis. I also plan to go running with him/her every morning.

So, I want to know if this is enough. In these circumstances, would I be able to give a Border Collie enough physical and mental stimulation? And would 5 to 6 hours a day be too much time alone?

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

Welcome!

I think you need to consider a few things:

First: 2 hours per day should suffice if you give a border collie what he needs: training & mental stimulation. Taking him / her running in the morning and then to the dog park in the afternoon will not cut it for most border collies. There are more laid back ones of course, that would do fine with this schedule, but a lot won't. You don't mention any formal training / herding / agility. Do you plan to incorporate that weekly / multiple times per week?