BC Boards

heel work to music/free style/ trick work advice

Hello!

This is my first post to this board though I've been surfing through your posts for a while.

I currently have a beautiful BC x Aussie cross and she just hit a year old this month (YAY!) and this means that I have to get more serious about what type of sports I want to do with her…

Border collies were always my favorite breed and I always had in mind that I will have to do some kind of activity to keep her stimulated.

My first instinct was stock work however there seems to be no good trainers in my area (less than an hour away) so I am debating on a few other options.. I have a good lead on an agility instructor however I haven't gotten a response in a wile.

In the mean time I don’t want to give up on my pup so I want to work on something that may be a little easier to tackle on my own being that I have no formal training/experience in dog training.

This led me to teaching tricks at home.

I was inspired by the cruft's heelwork to music competition that you can find on youtube…

So my question is this what tricks should I focus on? My pup already knows:

Sit

Down

Stay

Shake

Stand (a little rusty…)

We are working on:

Heel

Sit up/ beg /sit pretty

Directions (spinning left/right with the respective command)

Weave (between legs)

Obviously this is nowhere near the level that the people at the cruft's show were on but I don’t expect that…

My favorite trick (that I've seen) is where you get the dog to lift a paw and sort of pretend limp/skip (by switching paws as it walks) has anyone trained this? Do you have any tips on that?

Ps. My puppy's name is pepper (paprika for long) and she is my avitar

Some other good basic Freestyle moves/behaviors:

Circle around you (either direction, or both)

Pivots

Backing up (away from you independently and/or with you as you move)

Prop work can be good, too.

Circle around a prop

Paws up on a prop

Paws up on a cane

Hup over a cane