BC Boards

Running Multiple Dogs

I'm a complete newbie to agility, and I was wondering if running two dogs (obviously not at the same time) in agility is realistic for a newbie?

Both of my dogs have taken to agility like a fish to water and I am having trouble deciding which I want to run and compete with. I would love to run both of them to be honest, but I don't want to have two mediocre competitors simply because I am not just focusing on one dog.

Am I worrying for nothing or should I just pick one dog to compete with until that dog is at the top of their game?

IMHO, if you have the time, energy, money (for double entry fees), and organization skills to run 2 dogs - go for it.

Will your dogs be in the same, or different, height classes? Since you are a newbie, running 2 dogs might be easier if they are in 2 different height classes, but I know plenty of people who run 2, or 3, dogs in the same height class with little problem. Sometimes they have to ask that one of their dogs be moved in the running order so that they have time between runs to get their other dog, but that is never a problem that I have seen (i.e. the gate steward is always accomodating).

".....Am I worrying for nothing or should I just pick one dog to compete with until that dog is at the top of their game?"

Umm, Err, giggle. I was a newbie 5 years ago, and sometimes I feel like I still am. :P I find that the more I know, the more I realize what I don't know (and how much more my dog needs additional training on certain skills). I think that if you wait for one dog to be "at the top of their game", the other dog will play very little agility. Of course, you will probably catch on faster than I did, and by working 2 dogs, that may also speed things up.

Welcome to agility - wonderfully fun and addicting and challenging (you will never stop learning)