BC Boards

covering hay for the winter

KnottyClarence

We have had a bad time with the drought, though not as bad as others. My regular hay guy is totally out of hay, and I only got about a 1/4 of what I thought I would off my own fields, not enough. So I bought a load of round bales of hay which is "pretty good" , will hold us through the winter. I have a large tarp. Should I cover the bales, and if so, completely or just the tops? I have been using my hay loft and small squares for the last 10 years, so am not used to dealing with storing hay outside.

What they said.

The important thing is if you are storing them uncovered, make sure to space them out on a dry area of the field, so that the bales have adequate room between bales (we go for 2-3 feet) that there is good air drainage and you won't get moisture perching between bales, which will rot them quickly. Also, of course, store them with a rounded side up and not with the end (flat side) up, or they will rot rather than forming a cap.

If you are going to cover, they need to be well-dried on top and sides before you stack (if you are stacking). If you are covering individually, covering just the top sides (upper half) should prevent a lot of loss. Again, though, they should be pretty dry if you are covering.

We usually have ours out but if we are able to, we do stack and cover (have a special, huge, heavy tarp and tiedowns) until Ed puts them out on the field in the later fall for feeding to reduce waste. But you do need a heavy-duty tarp that is very well-secured, or you will have it blow.

Good luck with the hay - we had to buy a lot in advance because of the drought this year.