BC Boards

HELP!!!

I have a 6 month old BC that was on his way to the pound! I have no experience in training and am wondering how to get into an Agility or Obedience class with my dog. I have watched the Agility contests on TV and they look like great work and fun. I am just not sure how practical it would be for me to try this. "LUCKY" lives in our fenced in backyard and seems to be bored, whereas he is chewing and eating EVERYTHING not moving. Our wooden stairs, door frames, and bannisters are ruined. He goes through chew toys extremely fast. He does NOT care to chase after balls or any other retrievable type toys and this baffles me since all i read is what kind of playful dogs they are as far as wanting to retrieve for you??? Any suggestions on the eating of the wood, retrieving interests, appropriate toys, and who can i go to about agility training?

Hello Joy,

Your profile says you are a corporate trainer. How much time do you have for your pup? How much time do you spend with your pup each day? Can you take him with you to work? Is your pup supposed to be a pet, or do you want to do herding?

Why is your pup in the back yard alone?

If you are not with your pup, which should be most of the time, he should be safely kennelled. He needs lots and lots and lots of time with you, training with you, living with you, being with you. BC's are typically slow to mature (read maybe up to three years). They are considered "nursery" until 36 months old in herding circles.

Have you trained other dogs before?

They are a great deal different from people you would train corporately!