BC Boards

HELP!!!

I have a 6 month old BC that was on his way to the pound! I have no experience in training and am wondering how to get into an Agility or Obedience class with my dog. I have watched the Agility contests on TV and they look like great work and fun. I am just not sure how practical it would be for me to try this. "LUCKY" lives in our fenced in backyard and seems to be bored, whereas he is chewing and eating EVERYTHING not moving. Our wooden stairs, door frames, and bannisters are ruined. He goes through chew toys extremely fast. He does NOT care to chase after balls or any other retrievable type toys and this baffles me since all i read is what kind of playful dogs they are as far as wanting to retrieve for you??? Any suggestions on the eating of the wood, retrieving interests, appropriate toys, and who can i go to about agility training?

i'm glad you rescued him, bcs are very special dogs. everybody talks about puppy classes,but i guess it depends on where you live. my idea is to contact your extension office and see if any 4-H clubs in your area are doing agility. 2 of the 3 dog clubs in my county have full sets, and there are a few adults who come practice with us. hope this helps.

• 2 weeks later...

I don't think this is a rescue dog. First of all, you need to contact you're a Border Collie rescue organization, not the pound, unless you want you're puppy to die in a week.

Secondly, this pup is only 6 months? What do you expect? Those dogs you see on TV have agility courses in their backyards and the owners spend hours a day training them. Just because BC's are smart, doesn't mean you can expect them to do what you want without training and guidance.

I hope you wouldn't give up you're own child just because he's biting other children at daycare. You need to rethink what you got this pup for in the first place.

Chicken,