BC Boards

Flipped ears

I apologize if this has been asked before, but I searched the threads (and even the web) and can't find anything.

I have an 11-12 week old BC mix. He was a rescue, so I don't know what he is mixed with and look forward to see what he will end up looking like. :rolleyes:

Anyway, ears. I know a little about ears, in that they come in many shapes and sizes, and that he is too young to really know how they will ultimately be set (although at this point I'm sure they won't be fully pricked). For the last week or so, every time I turn around, one or both ears are flipped backwards. Since the cartilage is still soft at this point, will the flipping have any effect on the shape of his adult ears?

post-10785-1262734030_thumb.jpgpost-10785-1262734046_thumb.jpg

Since the cartilage is still soft at this point, will the flipping have any effect on the shape of his adult ears?

I don't think so, but I'm not an expert. He looks like he'll have drop ears, like Lacee's. (I'm pretty sure it's not called that). She's 10 and her ears still flip. I think she looks so cute when they do that! :rolleyes:

Some adult dogs' ears do that, long after they are set in the shape they will always have. I would not worry but I do flip mine back just to avoid stuff getting into the ear.

Enjoy! The great ear guessing game is enormous fun!

Since the ears "break" so low, it's just easier for them to flip backwards. I don't think that pup's ear-set is going to change much. Most of the pups I've seen that started out like that, stayed like that. My experience is with Rough Collies, but as far as ears go, I don't think there's much difference. I had a male that had a really low ear-set, and when his ears flipped back like that I called it his "French Ears."

I apologize if this has been asked before, but I searched the threads (and even the web) and can't find anything.