BC Boards
SoloRiver

photographing dark-faced dogs

A couple of folks over on another thread asked for tips for photographing dark-faced dogs, and getting their eyes to show up in photos, or at least their faces.

My favorite dog to photograph is a red dog, so I am no expert. I don't have as many photos of Fly as of Solo for many reasons, but her potential eyelessness is one of them. And now I have Jett, who is not only almost entirely black, but has eyes so dark brown that they are difficult to see at a distance even with the naked eye unless the whites are showing (and she does have numerous wide-eyed expressions, so the whites show fairly often, but still). I have taken PLENTY of eyeless photos of Jett. In fact, in many photos I have of her, she is basically a black blob. Let's face it, she IS a black blob. She looks like one of those weathervanes shaped like a dog that you can buy at the craft fair. Getting her expressive parts to show up in photos is really difficult.

EXPOSURE AND DYNAMIC RANGE

Photographing dark dogs is an exposure problem. I have yet to crack open my Ansel Adams books so I cannot discuss exposure in very intelligent terms, but the basic idea is this: in any scene witnessed by either your camera or your eye, there is a dynamic range encompassing darkest to lightest and every shade in between (and every color, if you are shooting in color). Whatever medium you are using to record data, be it your eye/brain, film, or the sensor in your digital camera, can sense and record only a portion of that dynamic range. Some of the darks and/or some of the lights are going to end up being off the scale and therefore the detail from them cannot be recorded.