BC Boards
MikeMcA²

New to BC Boards, and would appreciate critique and advice

Hello, I'm Mike and I'm a photographer friend of a person who posts here regularly. At her invitation I attended the NJ Sheepdog Trials last summer, and really enjoyed the work and the activity. I've been looking through the posts here and see some fine quality photos, so am asking as "trialers" and working dog owners, what shots do you prefer and which shots have you frankly seen enough of? I understand that some shots which work for me artistically may not convey the action you want conveyed or the sense of why this form of competition/exhibition is enjoyable to you.

Some examples of my first time at such an event:

191253906-L-3.jpg

191288468-L-3.jpg

191288816-L-3.jpg

191290991-L-3.jpg

191256782-L-3.jpg

Those shots are terrific! When are you coming to Colorado? :rolleyes:

I like anything close up where the dog is working (not necessarily with sheep in the photo, but the dog is moving/thinking/concentrating/using his eye). So my favorites of this set are #2, #3, and #5. Especially #3.

Welcome, Mike! I think you are going to have a ton of fun taking pictures at sheepdog trials. I love the pictures with sheep in them, like your last picture. I think my favorite action shot of all is a picture Denise Wall took, which includes one very airborne sheep. I'll try to find it, but meanwhile, she and others have posted some really nice action photos. Mark Billadeau had a thread of photos from the 2007 finals that showed some really nice action:

2007 Finals

Thanks for the replies! Yes, I think I will like the action and the challenge of capturing what is at times fairly quickly changing action.

Hey, I'll be in Colorado the end of this month for my regular job, but I doubt there's gonna be much sheepherding in late January lol.

Kelpiegirl, thanks :rolleyes: This is yours, correct? Hope to see you back out in '08.

192420954-L-2.jpg