BC Boards

Getting a solid stop/down

Guest kimkathan

Guest kimkathan

Any advice on getting a solid stop/down? I have a 4 1/2 year old female who I have been trialing for 2 years. She has done quite well in both famr and trial situations, but could do much better if she were to stop when I told her. Away from sheep she will drop on a dime, but around sheep I think she thinks they are going to get away. She is a very pushy little dog who will stop eventually, usually 3-5 steps after, and by that point it is a compleatly different situation than when I gave the command. I have tried voice tone changing, running up the field, and throwing objects like milk jugs near her to get her attention. I have been told by Cindi Hayden that she hears me, but is not acknowledging me. This is most likely very true. The largest problems I'm having is at the top of the lift, through the panels and at the pen. She is getting better on her pace, but if I could stop her and allow the sheep to drift off at a slow pace and/or gather themselves, me and the dog for a second, we'd be better off. At the pen she stays back far enough, but bounces on her square flanks and rattles the sheep. In short I REALLY would like a solid stop/down. Any help would be appreciated.

Guest Carol Campion

One of the greatest reasons I see dogs not stopping when asked is from asking a dog to stop and then asking it to do somethin gelse before you give it a chance to stop.

Dogs don't know English and so they attach a behavior to a sound. The sounds are our words. Or our whistles. It doesn't matter what words we say, but being human, we use words that have meaning for us.