BC Boards

Clarification on crate use

Hello.

I have never used a crate before, but had to start when our new rescue was getting really obsessed with windows. Searching the web has provided conflicting advice about how and when to use the crate so that it is constructive, and not a scary and/or cruel thing. One thing that I have gleaned from this forum, is that it should not be used as punishment, but to "settle" a dog or redirect their attention. Somehow that doesn't completely settle the issue in my head. I watched an old sheepdog herding video in which an old english sheep farmer (is that what you call them?) explained that he puts his dogs in kennels after a training session so that they spend some time thinking over their lesson, and said that the result was faster learning. Can someone explain, or direct me to a good explanation of crate use for behavioral issues and for training?

For some background - My ~2yo BC Lily has only been with us for about 3 weeks now. She has calmed down quite a bit, but still has times when she gets too amped up and won't leave my other dog alone, or will start trying to tear up a rug if nobody plays with her (after initially "warning" us by squeaking her toy a while before getting destructive). She will still occasionally pee on the carpet (today, right after coming inside from a pee-break outside, on a leash to keep her from jumping the fence after squirrels). And for some reason defecated on the carpet the night before last, while I slept, though I took her out late at night. Her other training is progressing, slowly, but still only including the basics - sit, lie down, come, stay, touch, leave it. You can read a lot more about her and her issues here: Lily's progress

Thanks very much for any help.

Cheers.