BC Boards

Is there a noticeable difference in personality/temperament between BC's from cattle lines vs. sheep lines?

SoHo

I've been wondering about this awhile. If, say, you took ten working dogs (5 from cattle working lines and 5 from sheep lines) and put them in a dog park, would you be able guess which were cattle dogs and which where sheep dogs without having to actually see them work? I mean, just by their personality? Or would be just as likely to be wrong as you would right?

Intuitively it seems to me that the cattle do would naturally be the confident and outgoing type (also more likely to be dominant and dog aggressive) and the sheep dog would be more likely to be the timid, passive one. But I have no experience with either, so it's really just a guess.

Is there a noticeable difference in the personality or temperament of cattle and sheep dogs?

It really isn't a case of put these dogs on my righthand side and put those on my left. It's more like a spectrum. Some cattle dogs are too aggressive(or whatever term you want to use) for some sheep. Some sheep dogs work cattle just fine. Some dogs are too weak to push sheep that are heavy. So some dogs you could sort into this category or that, but some belong somewhere in the middle, or somewhere else all together. Some you can make that determination based on what you see of their personality, but you might be proved wrong later, and others don't show what they are made of until you put them on stock.