BC Boards

Where's the Love?

I'm not sure if Roxie (5 month old femal BC) is behaving normally or not. As background, I am new to the breed. Before this I had Rotties. My last Rottie was a "velcro dog"--shy, no confidence, timid. We worked through the problem well enough that she got her TDI and worked regularly as a therapy dog and enjoyed it.

Roxie is as far from a velcro dog as you can get. We are attending puppy classes and she loves everyone in the class. Any strangers she sees, she wants to mob them. (Yeah, we are working on that!) Problem is that with us, she displays very little if any affection. She will, of course, run to one of us if she hasn't seen us for an hour or so, but as for pets--she wants nothing to do with that. No cuddling. Nothing. She's thrilled if you'll throw her ball or if we do clicker training, but absolutely NO loving. She will follow me around in the house, but I have to all but hold her down to give her a rub. She seems to enjoy it while it's going on, but never wants more.

With strangers we joke that she likes everyone--even people she hasn't met--more than us. We have to all but haul her back to us.

Oh, and I nearly forgot. I got her as an 8 week old, and even at that young age, if you picked her up to hold her, she would lick your face one or two times then turn her head as far away from you as she could. Almost as though refusing to look at you. (And to clarify, she's never been abused or hit or kicked or anything....strongest punishment she's ever had is a sharp ACK when she does something wrong. Absolutely NOTHING physical!)

Is this lack of affection normal? As I said, I'm new to the breed so am a bit perplexed. In addition ot the puppy classes, I clicker train her for short (3-4 minute) sessions throughout the day. She eats up the training, but just doesn't want any loving going on. (Smart as a whip! Catches on to everything in a matter of seconds!)