BC Boards

Lump on head......

Chris B

Bella is 11 months old.

Over the last couple of weeks a lump has appeared on the back of Bella's skull.

It's right in the middle looking from the front and it's just where the back of her head starts to go down to her neck looking from the side.

It sticks out about 1/3 inch, and you can see it as well as feel it.

It feels hard to the touch, but bella is not bothered in any way when we touch it.

We thought she had just banged her head, but after reading an old post on here about a lump being cancer we have booked her into the vets office tomorrow.

Does anyone have any insight into a raised bump on the head.

Worried

Chris

I'm no expert but, if I remember correctly, the sagittal crest (or ridge) along the top rear of the skull proceeds down the back of the skull. Some dogs have very smooth skulls and others have very obvious sagittal crests at the back of the skull. This is where muscles attach (facial or jaw muscles, I think).

If you have access to a field guide to the mammals, there will be skull pictures that show the crest in wild canids (wolves, coyotes, foxes) and you can see what I am talking about.

However, I would think that this crest would have been present prior to your dog's current age. It would, as you note, be hard and not appear to cause any discomfort when touched. Perhaps you are only noticing this crest but a vet visit will (hopefully) put your mind at rest.

The sagittal crest provides an attachment for the temporalis muscles, which are some of the muscles that close the jaw. You can feel yours if you clench your teeth with your fingers on your temples. The muscle that you feel contracting originates in a fan shape on the side of your skull, runs under your cheekbone, and attaches to a process on the mandible.

tempor.gif