BC Boards

How many runs is too many in a trial?

I know that every dog is different, but I would like to know other's experiences.

Because I live in a country town, I usually have to travel between 4 and 5 hours each way to reach a trial, so I have to convince myself the trip is worth it. This means I go to two day trials, not one day trials. There are multiple runs at these trial, and competing in novice jumping and novice agility, my Oscar and I will usually end up in between 8 and 12 runs over the weekend (4 to 6 each day). Oscar seems to handle this fine.

Last weekend, at our local trial, I tried Oscar in open jumping (a harder course with an exclusion zone for distance handling) and he did really well, despite not really training at distance handling. So I would now like to start running in open jumping occasionally.

The next trial I am looking to enter will be in late November. I have never done this trial before. They have morning and afternoon runs on Saturday and Sunday, but they run back to back novice courses, first one way and then the reverse. So just with novice classes, there will be 8 runs each day. If I add in the single open jumping runs, that would be 10 runs a day, about double the usual.

I am worried that I need to cut down that number. Oscar is stronger in jumping than agility, so I could just run him in jumping, which brings it down to 6 runs a day. Or I could only enter him in one of each novice run and not do the reverse courses, again that would be 6 runs each day. Or I could enter him in them all and scratch if he is getting too tired. Or I can mix it up, do different things each day, enter more in the morning and less in the afternoon....

I am not concerned about the cost of entries, I am worried about making sure that Oscar has fun. He does love his runs but I do not want to overload him, either physically or mentally. On the other hand, I have no concrete proof that he will not cope with all the runs.