BC Boards

Huh?

RoseAmy

• Replies 63
  • Created
  • Last Reply
It probably works for many breeds of dog whose herding instincts have been bred out of them in favor of other things, like looks.

J.

But isn´t the question if this "dry work" could be beneficial in training dogs with (even good) natural herding instincts?

As you know, I am a total novice at this, my feeling ( and what I have read and been thaught) is that herding commands should be trained on stock, the dog should learn the relevance for the command in connection to the reaction of the sheep

(Also I think frishbees don´t flock very well :rolleyes: ).

That said, a friend of mine has to bc´s and has used a ball to train directional commands (away/come by) with some success.

It´s a hard plastic ball (used on fishing nets), the dogs push it around with their noses. He stops the dogs, pushes the ball with his foot, gives the command, the dog moves in an "outrun" around the ball, stops it and pushes it back.

Thanks for the link, RoseAmy. I found this sentence to be especially interesting:

"Livestock can be a major distraction when trying to teach a dog to perform stops and to take flanking commands."

Oh, brother!!!

nancy

Thanks for the link, RoseAmy. I found this sentence to be especially interesting:

"Livestock can be a major distraction when trying to teach a dog to perform stops and to take flanking commands."

Oh, brother!!!

nancy

Well, I bet my dog would listen to and comply with every single thing I tell him to do if I worked him out in the field with no annoying livestock to distract him. In fact, I bet we could work just as well in my living room!

Oh, brother!!!

nancy

Why "oh brother", the expert on this forum has stressed on more than one occasion teaching the dog a stop before introducing it to stock, that would be "dry work".