BC Boards

Confidence building

Hi. I'm new to this. My boy is 1and a half. He's really nervous around strangers and barks at them. He recently went to kennels and snapped at the lady a few times. We got him when he was 7 weeks old and never had any real issues. I was walking him one day and a woman accidentally hit him and the week after the vet scared him to. Since then if someone goes to smooth him he backs away but then snaps at them. Like a warning snap not actually trying to bite. I'm trying to build his confidence because I think this will help.

Best thing for his confidence in this situation is to NOT let people pet him for a while. Protect him from what he considers scary, and let him know you'll handle it so he doesn't have to.

Otherwise, general training of any sort in a variety of situations will help. Particularly if you eventually take that training around people and don't let them mess with him.

14SxNIacg1XHRxamZ3GIvV.jpg

This is a Julius IDC harness, with a patch from here:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/STOP-NO-TOUCH-TALK-EYE-CONTACT-SERVICE-DOG-PATCH-2X4-INCH-Danny-LuAnns-Embroid-/381724199922?var=&hash=item58e0890bf2:m:mTSXkDYzmy4CrF4SA2EF_uA

Well, well, worth it. That and people who will allow the dog to approach and sniff without doing any of those things? Worth their weight in gold.

Honestly I think a lot of it is how comfortable and confident you are. He will pick up on that. If you are worried about him being around people and snapping the dogs know you are worried. They know you are worried about people when they approach so THAT MAKES THEM WORRY. It becomes rather self perpetuating.

If you act like it is no big deal they will relax but you have to take the leadership role and let them know you have it covered. I always verbally let my dogs know the behaviors that are acceptable and those that are not in every situation. They can be concerned or scared but still are aware that lunging and biting are not the thing to do.