BC Boards

Raw Question: Turkey Leg?

*don't listen to me alone because I am still learning too! But here is what I think*

The whole premise of raw feeding is really by feeding RMB - raw meaty BONES. Has she not had any bones yet? Uncooked bones will not splinter, and also don't break teeth - I know because Dazzle has been eating bones and still has all of her chompers. Cooked bones, or old, dried out bones can be bad - but raw juicy, meaty ones are good.

Dazzle (and the shih tzus too!) have been eating chicken feet/necks/backs/thighs (beef too, but no bones on them 'cause I read they are harder - well, yeah, they are not bird bones - and worry about the little dogs). Currently I feed them all one at a time and watch carefully (and for Dazzle, remind her to chew). They crunch the bones into nice little pieces and it is not splintering. I don't know if it is the bones or even just the meat, but Dazzle's teeth are almost back to their puppy-white!

So, YES feed bones!

I've said this before, but whenever I have a question about a new raw food, I just do a search on the yahoo rawfeeding group and invariably find good information.

Unlike the smaller chicken bones, turkey leg bones seem to shatter into sharp pieces. I was pretty worried watching my two eat them the first time, and I quickly gathered up all the sharp pieces after the meal and disposed of them in case the dogs might decide to snack on them later. Then I went to rawfeeding and learned that yes, turkey leg bones can be problematic in that way. Some dogs eat them safely and some don't. I decided to consider my dogs to fall into the second category, so no more turkey drumsticks for us.

Now I check rawfeeding before trying anything new, just so I'm informed.

BTW, turkey backs have not been a problem for us (other than not being very meaty), and ground turkey rolls have become a staple.