BC Boards

Ok..so I will be as precise as possible with my question: First know that I am a retired medical professional who has exhausted myself with researching all the current medical knowledge and research on the Spay age issue as well as had long and detailed conversations with my 2 Vets.

That being said, I am now turning to my Border Collie friends here. I am having a serious dilemma making a decision on when to get Rosie spayed.

She is now 5 months old, so the final decision needs to be made. I am turning to y'all to ask a very specific question (as I stated, I have done a lot of research: I have 2 Vets ....one is a Holistic Vet who says spay after 1 or 2 heats at the earliest. My other Vet (whom I have trusted with the care of my fur babies since 1988) who is a Traditional Vet, says spay before the 1st heat. Both with good reasons for their opinion!

Rose has a strong working lineage, however, most of her working will be done at herding clinics and maybe now and then with a friend who works his dogs locally. I am hoping to maybe someday go to trial with her, but who knows?

Sooooo, all you Mom's and Dad's with female BC's..... please help me with my decision. there are sooooo many good reasons for early as well as later spays.

Mostly, I would like to know how your females have done (especially concerning bone and joint health and any types of cancers in later life that may be due to spay age.

How are your older females doing that were spayed early or the ones spayed after heat(s)?

I have an appointment for her surgery this coming up Thursday the 19th of Sept, but that is subject to cancellation.

PS....if I do decide to wait and let her go in to heat I PROMISE .....she will be supervised VERY closely...and I am not concerned about the potential mess or the additional care to prevent mess in the house.. all this I can and will handle ok.

PLEASE...and thank you for any words of Wisdom you can share......SOON!!! ((hugs))JA