BC Boards

BORDER COLLIE TRAITS

Ok….a sort of fun post.

I’m new to owning a Border Collie. So…are the following traits that I see:

a. Border Collie traits?

b. General dog traits?

c. A particular dog’s trait?

1. Points (lifts a paw to “set”) – both my BC and my mix do this. I noticed a photo of Monicah’s dog in another photo with that paw up

2. Walks like a cat, one paw in front of the other – both my BC and my mix do this. Sometimes (not always) they will walk on the narrow brick trim between our pool and the grass, one foot in front of the other. There seems to be no reason to do this; no reason to avoid the grass. And, my BC did it the first day she got here…so it’s not like she learned it watching my mix.

3. Lays on back and plays with toys in the air (like a cat) – both by BC and my mix do this. We used to say that the mix was either raised by a kitty or was part kitty.

4. Curls her paws and uses them like hands – Only my BC does this. It is amazing what she can do with those paws. I don’t remember ever seeing a dog curl their paws like that to hold things. It’s like they’re her little hands.

5. Lays her head in your lap – I noticed other people referring to this trait in other posts. Mine does this. Is it a Border Collie thing? I never had another dog that did it quite like this and so often.

6. Any other things you would label as Border Collie traits (besides stalking and staring)? :rolleyes:

• Replies 77
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

My Border Collies pay extra close attention to what I am doing a lot of the time. Much, much moreso than my other dogs do. I often catch Dean watching me with an expression that suggests that he is listening to every word to try to catch some meaning as I speak! Speedy does the same thing, but not as intensely.