BC Boards

Nina at 5 months learning how to circle the sheep

I've got two videos here: the first is Nina circling the sheep with a lead. This is her 2nd session doing this and I've kept them to around 15 minutes each. The first several times out with her I basically just let her mess around. She started getting too used to diving right into the sheep, so I thought I should start to teach her to circle. The second video is her first time circling off the lead. I thought she did very well, but I'm open to any comments or suggestions. I'm a total novice at this and am just trying to pick up what I can from books and videos. Thanks for looking!

Chris

http://youtu.be/__6dxpb998E

http://youtu.be/xjyj4Gi10ko

Edit: I should have mentioned this right off the bat, but I'm following Vergil Holland's book. Several people have rightly pointed out that circling is not an end in itself. I didn't intend to present it that way, but I think my initial post and videos were misleading in a way because I didn't mention exactly what I was attempting. As I read it, Holland recommends staying between the dog and the sheep during the initial exposure and teaching it to circle around. After the initial exposure, you are supposed to work on getting the dog to start "holding the sheep to the handler rather than all of your directions being focused on keeping the dog away from them." I hadn't gotten here yet, but I will definitely go there next!

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Chris,

I know you said Nina wanted to dive right in, but you should understand that when you constantly put pressure on her by circling between her and the sheep, preventing her any real contact with them, you are just increasing her tension and frustration, and in the long run it won't be productive.