BC Boards

Switching from raw, high performance dog food and supplement reccomendations

I've been feeding raw for 5+ years and have loved the results. I've never had any problems with the diet, so I'm kind of hesitant to say this, but I'm looking into switching from prey model raw to a supplemented dry dog food. Link is a very active three year old neutered male, he is my service dog and also exercises regularly multiple times during the day outside as well as on a treadmill. I'm also training him to pull a dog powered scooter which we will be using as our main transport, and in the spring/summer we go on regular hikes. In addition I'm also planning to start trialing him in sheepdog trials this year.

The problem I'm running into is that he is having trouble staying at a good weight, especially trying to condition him. He's always been on the thin side, but I think his diet is holding him back mainly due to the sheer amount of food that he eats. He's eating on average at least half a chicken a day, and he should be eating more. I'm recently divorced, moved, and don't have a car to get to the meat locker I was able to get good deals and variety at previously. So I've been looking into several different brands.