BC Boards

Question about herding style in Hungary

clbmine

I am not experienced with herding, which is why I am asking this as I wish to learn more,

I have only seen herding in Hungary once when I went to meet my pups father, so I am not experienced in the style used in Hungary, only from what I observed.

But here are vids of my pups father working for reference to what I have seen.

Anyway, as a breed Mudi are called the "driving dog" of Hungary, in reference to their herding style.
And from what I can tell, Pumi, Puli, and Sinka are also used in a similar manner, as well as Croatian sheepdogs and Pulin which are practically the same breed as Mudi.

What I notice is that the breed is used mostly for moving stock, but "pushing" it in the direction desired (driving).

I like this
to show how they seem to be used to "push".
And I like this video of a Mudi too.

There are "traditional style" herding competitions as well in Hungary, to give more examples to help give a more "balanced" view if I can...

And
, well known (I think)
Though it seems
d

(that many may not let near their stock at all)
And sometimes they are just barking at cattle with no control.

, because I haven't posted enough!

A breeder of Pumi who lives in the US trains her Pumi in a more "american style".
Her lines are closely linked to lines in Hungary.
She sent me these videos as a reference to her Pumi herding.

Anyway, what I see their purpose being is as a dog which stands by the shepherds side, and is used to push the livestock with a lot of speed when needed, or bring them in. They also seem able to work stock a lot more "calmly" too when needed. Such as when moving ducks.

And they dont seem to use much independent thought or stock sense?

I was asked how this could even be useful... And I dont really have a huge answer.

They are not just used for herding, but also ratting and alerting to threats, and even hunting.
So perhaps their use is not just as a herding dog, but for everything?