BC Boards

sometimes I think the divide is impassible

rushdoggie

So I am a stock work newbie.

I have had Border Collies in my life since I met my now ex husband in 1994 and he had one. Molly was a Kuykendall dog out of Imp. Celt. We did obedience and agility with our dogs and we have always eschewed conformation showing of the breed.

A few years ago the dog I got for agility turned out to have some issues with temperament and structure that make both obedience and agility unsuitable pursuits for him. I decided to try stock work both because I Was interested in learning more, and because I thought that for a dog with fear and stress issues it might help him be more confident in life (it has, BTW). I train with a lady who has working Australian shepherds and competes (successfully!) in USBCHA sheepdog trials as well as AHBA and ASCA trials with her Aussies. The place I go to is accessible to me in terms of geography and cost. She gives lessons to a lot of people, including people who compete in AKC trials, which I know is frowned upon. But sometimes you have to compromise and for me a place I could go in town was a stronger pull than traveling to somewhere and not getting to work as much.

Anyways, I like her. Shes nice and kind, and never yells at me. As a very new student I am sure I was very hard on her because my sports background set me up early with some bad habits and learning struggles. She taught me a lot of foundation work, how to read sheep and my dog, how to gently force him past his shutdown point so he could be successful, how to accept a "redirect correction" (meaning he is very soft and being "wrong" tended to make him either shut down or start slicing and charging) and try again.