BC Boards

Turbo Trouble

I just started training Turbo for agility a week ago. Turbo is a 10 month old male BC, and is proving to be as fast as his name. The breeder warned me about that . :rolleyes: He has already picked up on doing 4 jumps set at 18", a tunnel, dog walk and 8 weave poles. Problem is, he gets way ahead of me as he wants to go flat out. He leaps 3/4 of the way up the dog walk, and jumps from it half way down, and heads for the next jump. I have the weave poles spread to allow a 12" stagger, and he is starting real good, but half way through, takes off for the next obstacle, the tunnel. I have tried walking him through the weave poles and over the dog walk, but he just can't seem to grasp the concept of slowing down. He is like a run-away truck. I should note, the dog walk is set at only 24", so I do have his safety in mind at all times. Once he starts the course, I am having a problem keeping him focused on me. Do you think we have to go back to obedience training, or is there something I can do to get him to slow down. Even as a pup, during obedience training, he would tear over the A frame full tilt, as that is how the older dogs were doing it. Could his bad habits have started then, or is this just normal BC behavior. This is my first time owning a BC, as I have always had Springer Spaniels in the past, and I am learning daily how to work with a BC. Currently there are no Agility training classes close by, unless I booked privately, which I can't afford, so I am on my own for several more months. Any help would sure be appreciated.

This may be a stupid question but- have you taught each obstacle separately before sequencing? If each obstacle has been taught individually first he is more likely to do well when you start sequencing. Also you might want to teach him contacts so he stops at the end of the contact obstacles and does not jump off and injure himself.