BC Boards

A bit embarrassing to ask but...

My puppy is 8 months now...last week and today I have noticed after he has got excited and his willy has come out... it was purple and lumpy looking.

I put my mind at rest this morning when I phoned my vet to ask for advice as the receptionist informed me this is fine for a pup and it can look "messy &swollen after getting excited.

Just thought I'd ask for your experiences on here just to confirm this

We just watched a seminar on stress in dogs and one thing the person said was that arousal and excitement/stress can be pretty closely linked. This "penis crowning" can be associated with a stressful/exciting situation.

Now, I'm no expert and I can't say that it's "always" associated with the situation - I think it just sometimes happens with male dogs for whatever reason (particularly intact males but I think it *may* happen to neutered males occasionally).

The reason it was showing is that it was swollen - that's what causes an erection, when the blood is "trapped" in the penis because little "valves" in the veins do not allow the blood that's entered the penis to flow back out again (which is perfectly normal when aroused).

I hope someone else with more experience and better advice can help you with this. Best wishes!

My mother-in-law's dog had this issue (until he was neutered) and the poor dog was terrified and would try to run away from it, only panicked because it was "following" him! Poor dog. Her vet also said it was normal and that it could happen in any overexciting situation.

Allie + Tess & Kipp

http://weebordercollie.com

Well...my two are neutered and it happens when they get overly excited. It scared me to death at first. I thought Navi had strained too hard or something when he peed and it just got stuck (boy did it ever look uncomfortable). I know that sounds silly but...then I remembered that it does happen due to over excited in neutered dogs.