BC Boards

What to Expect...?

Juno is just turning 6 months and we are taking him to the farm to see sheep for the first time. Heck....it's my first time, too and I'm getting excited. I guess the instructor will tell us whether he has any ability or not but is there something I should be looking for? Right now he shows a ton of eye for pretty much EVERYTHING....lol. He's a super intense little guy. I know that's not a definitive quality but what other things are there? Thanks..

DSC_0093_zpsvbxhfzhe.jpg

DSC_0085_zpsejkktasl.jpg

Maybe not helpful, but my advice is try to go with no expectations...., either good or bad.

Many pups need time to mature before they show whether they have potential to work stock..and IMO 6 months is too young for your instructor to give you a definitive answer to this question..

But if you are asking how Juno may behave now.. Well, diffent pups behave in different ways. Some are not interested and/or very uncertain..others are very excited, barking and chasing .... Some others maybe completely transfixed to the stock with his eye to such an extent that they completely freeze. (In my limited experience this is less common in a young pup)....Any indication that he is thinking about what to do and also trying to get behind them, hold them together as a group and balance them towards you (...in a calm, focused manner with his tail down) is great, but as said, I certainly would not be worried if any 6 month old pup did not manage this.

If it is also your first time with sheep, my best recommendation would be to see if your instructor will spend time with you, without Juno, showing how his dog(s) works with stock. Ask him/her to point out different aspects of sheep behaviour and to demonstrate how these alter depending on how humans and dogs behave.. If possible try to move the stock yourself without a dog. This will all give some indication of what the dog has to do.

Enjoy your session and let us know how you get on.