BC Boards

50th Title!!!

Yesterday, Tessa and I earned her 50th Title!!

I had hoped that we would get results from her latest CRO Dance Division entry, as well as her latest All Dogs Parkour entry before the end of this month. Next Wednesday is the 6th Anniversary of Tessa's adoption.

Most of you know this already, but Tessa was a street dog of unknown origin. I don't even know if she is actually a Border Collie (I tend to lean toward English Shepherd, but she is officially listed as "Border Collie" with all of the sport venues because I didn't realize this at first and I want to keep it consistent). She was terrified of me at first, and it took a very, very long time to gain even a shred of her trust.

I started training her at first because that's what I do, and I wanted to give her the chance to see if she would like it. She did like it, and we have never stopped since!!

I will shamelessly admit that I adore "title chasing" with Tessa, but there is a particular reason for that. She loves it as much as I do. She thrives on the challenge that comes with trying to meet a particular standard in whatever kind of ring we walk into. I am not a high-pressure handler, but with Tessa I can focus as much on success as I do on her when we are performing in a particular discipline together.

We have all kinds of titles, too. Some are from live competition venues, some are from video competition venues, some are from non-competitive video venues. To me, they all have the same inherent value because all of them present their own challenges to Tessa and me as a team.

Of course, my favorite of her titles is the one we worked toward for 5 years - her CPE C-ATCH. That took more work and training and preparation and dedication and pure effort than any title I have ever earned with any dog. But, Tessa being Tessa, it was also the source of absolute joy for both of us most of the way.