BC Boards

too much dog

Guest Kiwi

My dog is very intense and hard headed. I am a complete novice. After trying for 2 years to work sheep with this dog, we are still at odds. Many lessons and clinics later I might add. For the sanity of both of us I have decided to stop pursuing the training of this dog at least for awhile. I plan to get a pup next year and start over with a softer dog and the things I now know that would have helped before this dog started blowing me off all the time. My trainer admits my dog is just not easy and even for a good handler is a struggle to control.

My question is, how do I keep her mentally happy living with me and my small flock of sheep if we don't dare work them? What I'm doing now is taking her to the barn with me, giving her a few commands while we are on the other side of the fence from them, then calling her off before she gets close to the sheep. While I feed I tie her or crate her where she can watch them. Will this feel enough like work to her? She seems happy so far but she WANTS to work, and I just can't get enough control to work her without the sheep getting hurt, or just plain wild because she can't help but blast them when she gets in close. Even when the sheep are in the pen, she locks on to them and it's hard to get her to come, she comes in slow motion, eyes on the sheep, walking sideways on her tiptoes.

My other question is, once I train an easier dog, do you think I will be able to work this one? Can her bad habits be broken after 3 years of age?

Guest aurdank