BC Boards

Best age to start training?

to be fair, i have been training my pup since a few days after we got her at 8 weeks old. she's now 10 weeks old and can do a few of the usual tricks, like sit, down, paw, crawl etc. her recall is so-so; she'll come if she feels like it.

our training sessions usually go fine but i was wondering, at what age can i up the level? at what age will she gain the 'border collie focus' that they're so known for? i was thinking it definitely won't be until after she's at least a year old, but it'd be nice to know anyway. gives me something to look forward to :D

I started training my pup immediately and he initially had the focus and attention span of a gnat. He did very well in his first puppy class and then turned into a hellion. And he was very very independent and much more interested in my adult dogs than me. The focus slowly came and we had the beginnings of a partnership at around 8 months of age. Now at 19 months of age, he would rather play ball and do agility with me than play with his sisters, although he enjoys playing with them when he and I are not actively engaged.

I will warn you that things get worse before they get better.

^^This.

If you wait until your pup is a year old to "up the level", you'll have let an awful lot of valuable time pass wasted. She's going to need a lot more to do with her life than the basic tricks you're doing now long before she reaches that age.

Unless, of course, you're talking about something like sheepdog training, agility or disc work, in which case you would want to wait until about a year old to start. In those cases you'll want both the maturity and the physical development (especially bone plates) for more physically strenuous activities.

But you can do obedience, rally, Treiball, canine freestyle, etc. much earlier than a year old, and I'd recommend it. Especially concentrated recall work. The earlier you get that down pat the better. ;)