BC Boards

How much does your BC eat?

Samson only really eats in the morning when I put him in his crate before work. I put food in his bowl when I get home but he doesnt touch it until the following morning. He still goes #2 at least 3 or 4 times a day. Is that normal that he only eats once a day?

His food is in his crate (which he's not 100% fond of yet) so I'm thinking that maybe that is why he only eats once. I dont know. Nothing serious, just curious. Thanks

Hmm. I guess it depends on what kind of food and how much you are feeding him. Oh, and how old is he? I'm no expert, but from conversations with my vet an adult dog should only go #2 twice a day. Of course that depends on what they eat. But basically the more they go, the more likely it is that they aren't drawing all they could be from their food. ie, the food has more "filler" than nutrients. I feed Daisy just under 1 cup of a good quality kibble in the morning and in the evening (I put a little bit of warm water over it to make her eat it right away, works like a charm!) and she goes twice a day. Not to get into analyzing stool or anything, but you might want to check it out. If it's soft and really smelly and he's going that much, you might want to change foods. But that's MHO and what works for my dog...

Julie

Willow is about 30 lbs. and ate 3/4 cup of Canidae in the am and pm.

Bailey is about 40 lbs and ate 1 cup of Canidae in the am and pm.

Ginger is about 55 lbs and ate 1.5 cups of Canidae in the am and pm.

I feed them twice a day. All of them normally only poo twice a day, after eating.