BC Boards

Need help with name for new puppy!

Hey, I'm new to the BC boards. My husband and I are getting a new puppy this week and are having a hard time coming up with a name. He is 3/4 Border Collie and 1/4 Australian Shepherd, mainly black with a bit of white on his feet, tail, tummy, and nose. He is really friendly and energetic. We're trying to find a name that isn't too "cutesy" or a "human" name. Any ideas would be appreciated!

Whenever I name an animal, normally I wait until I have it in my home for a couple of days and get to know it, I find it hard to pick a name without learning a little about the personality. :)

Good luck finding the perfect name, and don't forget to post puppy pictures!

Sugarfoot. That's what I'd call him. Well, I did. My dog's name is Sugarfoot (mostly called Sugar or Newty - for the animal, NOT the person) But there's a gazillion Mollys, Maxs, and Sierras out there, so why not? :)

Friday is a girl's name (goddess).

Traditional stock dog names are short and based on characteristics of the dog, nature or items related to farming/shepherding. For example, the names of my Border Collies have been Duncan, Flyboy, Freya, Luna, Loki, Sage, Frankie, Juniper, Hazel, Rose and Hope. Popular names include Tweed, Sweep, Moss, Cap, Lad and others.

Here is a good name resource for a sheepdog.

This is a controversial name to some, but I've always wanted to name a border collie Belfast. I just love the way it sounds and the fact that it contains the word, "Fast." Also, if you ever ending up showing him in agility or something, and they are checking for you at the gate, they will have to say, "Where is Belfast?" which is the capitol of Ireland. It is equal to seeing someone in a show just randomly say, "Where is Florida?"

I just find that hilarious, which is why I name a lot of my dogs names like countries or things that will sound funny when the gate steward ask where they are.