BC Boards

Training traits associated with "eye" versus "low-eye" dogs

Hi there,

I am a newbie to BC herding training and was talking with a USBCHA trialer and trainer. She said that some people like dogs with "eye" and others don't. I'm looking at getting one of her dogs that she thinks has more "eye" than she likes. She said a trainer kinda picks which training problems or traits they are willing to deal with when they pick an "eye" dog or "non-eye" dog. I guess I am wondering if someone with much experience could tell me something about how training the two types of dogs might differ; what sort of tendencies each type of dog has; and what "problems" might have to be corrected when training a dog of each type.

Dear Ms. Karen,

Eye is focus and predatory intent. Imagine the few seconds when a wolf stalks its prey before it attacks that's eye and prey animals move off it.

One of my trial dogs (Fly) has too much eye, one (Jake) too little (loose eyed).

Fly will lock on to her sheep and control them. She is so focused I need to startle her so she can hear a command.

Jake moves his sheep by movement, not eye. He is always biddable but movement upsets sheep more than eye so Jake's sheep are harder to direct with the precision one wants at a trial.

Note that both dogs (who are fairly extreme instances) are perfectly useful farm and ranch dogs.

In general, dogs with too much eye must be trained to keep moving. In early training you keep them on their feet and flanking against the way they know is best to control the sheep.

A dog with too little eye must be trained to focus. A dog asked to work just two sheep can't control them with movement and must develop his eye.

Donald McCaig

• 2 weeks later...