BC Boards

He refuses to listen!!

Hello all! It has definatly been awhile since I last posted. I do miss the friendly faces and wonderful advice!

Almost, my 14 month old BC, has refused to listen to simple commands since we adopted him. (His mother is pure-bred BC, father is pure-bred black lab)

I will admit that we (as a family) have been pretty lax with his training. Allowing him to pull us on the leash now and then (which is now, to no ones surprise, a constant affair) as well as allowing him to run around the backyard offleash and shrugging it off when he doesn't respond to "Come" or "No!".

However, I am beginning to get sick of his refusing to listen. These past two months (Dec/Jan) I have been working hard on his - basic - training, though most of the training is done on the weekends as I am a High School student.

I began with "sit", knowing that that is something Almost knows well. He will do it perfectly and punctually at some points, and other times, he acts as if he knows no such command and even when I put him into the sit position, he pops his rear back up.

As with the down command, it is very similar to how Almost responds to "sit". Sometimes it is picture-perfect, other times he just looks at me, wondering why the heck I am demanding that he do something... I know that the ranking of Alpha is not in question. I have no doubt whatsoever that Almost knows I am leader and he is the follower.

He just refuses to ... follow sometimes.

The one thing that always gets him to behave and follow commands is when I have treats (whether it be kibble, scraps, BilJac, etc.). I hate that he relies on treats! I stopped giving him food rewards, because I was sick of having everything based on his stomach... But lately, I've been so tired of him refusing to listen, I am using treats again. Hmm, imagine that. No problems listening and following through on commands!!