BC Boards

How to teach your dog to hold things (for fetch and other fun tricks)

Betsy

I'm trying to teach my 7-month old pup to hold an object in his mouth. I'm using a clicker and it is likely my fault due to my timing being off with the clicker at times (I'm new to clicker training).

If I use a toy, he grabs it from me and tries to turn away with it, or drops it immediately. If it's a non-toy object he won't even open his mouth if I hold it out to him, thinking he's not supposed to have it. For a non-toy object I can start with it on the ground and click for interest, upping the criteria until he's mouthing it, but even if I can get him to pick it up, he drops it immediately, or starts chewing on it. If I try to keep it in his mouth longer by holding it there he backs up to get away.

I'm thinking I need to back up a step or a few, or start over completely, but am at a loss. Any help?

I want to teach "hold" in order to teach other things such as putting his toys away, and fetch. Right now he'll fetch but will only bring it back about 3/4th of the way then drops it and keeps coming towards me. If I ignore him, hoping he'll figure it out on his own that he has to bring it all the way in order for me to throw it again, he will eventually just give up and go find something else to do.

'Hold' is a hard concept for a dog to understand. I teach it by teaching him the object must be put into my hand and then delaying the presentation of my hand or making my hand difficult to get to.

I like to teach a formal retrieve to all my dogs just because its a handy skill and super nice when I drop something. I use a Shirley Chong's clicker dumbbell retrieve steps, if I don't have a dumbbell I choose a dumbbell like object. I like her steps as they are very clearly lined out.

http://www.shirleychong.com/keepers/retrieve.html