BC Boards

Training methods

Hi All,

here is my question: would it be possible to train a sheepdog with R+ methods?

I’m asking this because recently I started herding lessons with Spillo and by observing what was going on I did not think that positive training could be very effective in this case.

But I’m new to training,meaning that even if we always had dogs in the family, I did not do specific obedience training, it was more like "my mom style" of training and pretty much common sense. the dogs were not allowed in the house and rarely saw a leash.

anyway, I started to learn about training methods when I moved to America and I got Spillo. We did a lot of progresses, he had some reactivity, I would say mild reactivity, but still enough the let him leave his brain at home at times.

We worked with positive training when he was a puppy, counter conditioning when he started to show reactivity issues. I disciplined him for things I consider unacceptable.

Then we started herding, and the first exposure was overwhelming. He was lunging and barking at the sheep, we started in a small pen and started to learn how to circle the sheep to let them move. He could not hold the pressure at a certain distance and start the lunging. So corrections are used in this case.