BC Boards

Microchipping your dog

aschlemm

Hi,

I work as a Vet Tech and wanted to get opinions on something I've been faced with lately. OK, you have a client come in with a pet (dog usually) that they found and want scanned for a microchip. You scan it and "hooray" it has one. Then you go to the AAHA website and look up the chip number and get a phone number for the chips manufacturer. Then you call the manufacturer and (if you are lucky) get an owners name and phone number. Who should contact the owner?

I've had microchip companies tell me that I CANNOT give out owners information and then I try the phone numbers I've been given and leave a message (if they aren't disconnected.) I've also had chip companies that wanted the name and phone number of the client who found the pet (I don't give out clients info!) Should vet offices be a go-between? If you kept a tag on your dog the person who found it would have access to the same information so what is the difference? What if I give the person who found the pet the information and they decide to keep the pet and never call the registered owner?

What I've been doing is if the company tells me NOT to give out the owners information I make the call and go from there. If the company doesn't say anything I give the information to the person who found the pet and what they do with the information is their business.

What do you think? What are the ethics about giving out information and to whom? I've looked at the websites for the microchips and they don't have any info on this.

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

We always call the owners. I've seen cases of people getting a dog scanned, keeping the dog, calling the microchip company and claiming they adopted the dog (giving all the info including chip number and name of the previous owner as proof).