BC Boards

Difficulty getting the dog to come in

Guest Riptide

Guest Riptide

Hi

I am relatively new to this endeavor and am doing fairly well with my 2 year old BC. I have gotten a lot of great help from attending clinics, and some private lessons some great people. My question tonight is not about him. I recently (in the past month) acquired a 18 month old BC who comes with a history and issues. I don't really know the history and all the issues just what I have seen. When I have seen him work in the past, he appeared that he was just working nice and wide until as I watched over time I could see that he was just staying as far away as he could to relieve the pressure of the handler. At times he appeared to be working his own imaginary flock away from the real sheep. He will actual flank quite nicely to the right but will only fetch a few feet before he circles wide or runs the other way. He does seem to know now exactly what the sheep are doing and will come back around. (This is really hard to explain)He will not go to the right except if you leave him enough room to blow in and then sometimes he will go all the way around and if you step in to push him out (because he will come in a grip)he turns around and runs away instead of being pushed out. I took him into a smaller pen but he would just run to the other side if I set up for him to move to the left. We are just beginning to establish our relationship and partnership and what I am wondering is should I forget about where he is and where he has been and just start fresh from scratch like I was starting a brand new dog and see if we can overcome the bad habits. You posted on the too much dog posts some ways to help get the dog more comfortable do you think that would work in this situation. I am not sure I am explaining very well but hope that you have some ideas. Thanks

Avis

Guest aurdank

Hi Avis,