BC Boards

Hi everyone. I'm a newbie. I've been lurking though.

About the title, my dad is a grumpy old dog man. More fond of dogs than people, he'd tell you this to your face. What he always said was the worst, scummiest thing you could do, was get a dog of a breed because its cool/cute/on tv/in the shop and then get rid of it or hurt/punish it for doing a completely predictable thing for the breed. Dropping terriers because of digging/barking, Danes for being big and clumsy, things like that. In his view most dogs end up in pounds because lack of diligence in research.

My needs/wants are different than his though. I need more trainability, a smaller size, (I'd like to be able to lift my dog if its hurt, which caps me out at about 75 lbs at the max) and more heat tolerance. I like to do 3-5 miles of walking every day, would be willing to work up to more. I still don't own any sheep though.

Borders are one of the breeds that appeals, but I worry about letting the dog down on exercise/energy needs. I don't have a yard. Was told Borders need more exercise than Dobermans or Poodles (two other athletic breeds I'm researching)? But is BC endless hyperactivity like pitty lock-jaw, not strictly true?

I'm willing to look at dog sports but have no yard and no experience w/ agility so it would be a slow and probably very stupid-looking process.

I'd like to be told the unvarnished truth about whether I'm being a jerk to even think about BCs, as a pet home. Yell at me if you want. I won't get offended. I've been warned away from a couple other "hyper" breeds as too much for me.

I've never had a herding breed. In the past I've lived with rescue Akitas, and a rescue staffy with separation anxiety. Very, very different. And only adult dogs. They needed exercise and people around, and they were strong dogs, but their brains aren't the same.