BC Boards

Herding Dogs Progressive Training

KrisK

I'm just reading Vergil S. Holland's book "Herding Dogs, Progressive Training". I am a total newbie and have had a couple of lessons with a trainer. I think this is a reasonably good book for a beginner like me because the explanations are clear and there are some easy to understand pictures. Has anyone else read this book?

It is my "go to" book, and Ive had mine for 5 or 6 years. I think he wrote it with the beginer in mind, but I like the way he has put "possible problems and how to handle them" at the end of the chapters as well. Very thoughtful. There is a lot of very useful info in the book, and the diagrams are very easy to comprehend. I have several others avalible to me by other authors, but this is the one I utilize the most, especially when starting young dogs, it reminds me of things I tend to sometimes forget. I give a good re-read now and then. Darci

It's a really good starter book. Vergil is so clear with his terms and explanations that it gets a newbie sufficiently up to speed to get the most out of further training. I even recommend it to people who have never seen dogs work, who are interested in learning more about the process and vocabulary.

I just got the book out and glanced through it to give it more justice.

The diagrams are both clear and entertaining - that will help a beginner remember a concept pretty easily!

Here's an exerpt to show how he really gets into the basics:

Wear or Wearing--refers to movement of the stock with the handler in the lead and the dog following behind the stock, holding the stock to the handler, in small circles, large circles or straight lines. Early in training you may be walking backward in order to keep an eye on your dog and direct her, as necessary. Later, you may be walking with your back to the dog and sheep, occasionally looking over your shoulder in order to keep an eye on the stock and the dog.