BC Boards

Newbie seeks advice

Hi, all

I am a GREEN newbie to this board and to stock dogs. My husband, Scott, and I are 55 and bought an old, run down mountain farm in WV about 2 years ago that we've been nursing back to life. Quite an adventure: we love it!

We are now ready to commit to livestock, and have decided to start with Babydoll Southdown sheep who will work to trim our barnyard (about 5 acres, including young fruit trees). We put deposits down for 5 ewe lambs, to arrive next spring, and we plan to get two rams the following year, and do careful breeding in order to increase our flock. Meanwhile, we also have about 35 other acres that, for now, is in mountain pasture for a neighbor's Angus.

We envision, at full development, that we will have a modest flock of sheep and probably a small (compared to commercial) flock of meat goats, too. Our general orientation is homesteading, not commercial production. We also envision getting into free-range chickens and turkeys. But, we're moving slowly so as to make sure that we can perform what we commit to. I'm a big researcher, so I've come here. :)

I'm learning a ton by reading through these forums, and my first and biggest question for you veterans is this: how do I know if a young dog (I mean, a puppy) is suited to stock work? Is it simply luck of the draw?

Given this question, it seems that rehoming a rescue dog that has been trained, such as with some dogs in posts I read here, makes a lot of sense. But, I'm totally green in my ability to train, and it seems we've missed the window for attending stock trials in our general area. We are dedicated to the farm's success and willing to put in the time/energy to read/research/learn to train and use a working dog. Does a rescue dog's "baggage" disqualify me from considering a rescue dog? Please advise, and TIA!

Marcia