BC Boards

Agility Craziness

I have been working with my young Border Collie Ellie Mae (female blue merle) diligently for about 4 months. At one point I almost gave up because she goes so crazy at agility class. She is extremely fast and eager, almost to the point of pure craziness. I am a beginner handler, and I think that is most of the problem here (super energetic eager border collie meets stupid naieve handler). Currently we are working on Ellie simply being quiet in class (she has to leave the room often due to barking etc), and just getting her out on the floor to do the work. Once she all of that happens she really does amazing. She is fast and has no fear.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to how I can continue to get Ellie to just stay calm and focus. The weaves are the worst, it really sets her off into crazy barking and what looks like pure frustration for Ellie. And honestly we had class today and she does seem to be doing much much better. The barking (while other dogs are working) is getting less, and she is more calm. So probably I just need to keep working and being consistent with her.

Thanks for any and all suggestions to a novice agility trainer,

Carol

Hi Carol,

There are a few reasons dogs bark in agility:

Stimulation at the movement of other dogs running agility

Frustration at wanting to go faster but not sure where to go or what to do

Pure excitement of doing something they love

Sounds like your girl fits into all 3 categories? I can totally understand you wanting to change this. It's pretty hard to concentrate when all you can hear is your dog, especially when you are a novice handler.

Fwiw, here are my views: