BC Boards

Expectations of a 18-24mo Dog?

OK, I realize the answer to this questions is always going to be: Every dog is different and it completely depends on the individual dog.

However, this is my first time raising a dog and while there’s a surplus of info on puppyhood, there seems to be a lot less about adolescence. I understand that patience, constancy and fairness are key elements to continue to build trust during the teenage years. Continued socializing and training also seem extremely important.

I guess what I’m really asking is: What do YOU expect of a 18 – 24mo dog? Do you give him/her any responsibilities (or different responsibilities)? Hold him to higher standards? Do the rules and expectations change as he gets older, and if the answer is “yes”, then how so?

I worry that I would be doing my dog a disservice if I treated him like a puppy for the rest of his life. I’d be very interested in hearing how experienced dog owners think about and handle the transition from puppyhood to adolescence and finally adulthood.

What period do you call "adolescence"? Or "puppy hood" for that matter.

I have people on this board call dogs puppies up to a year old, even beyond that.

I don´t really think in these kind of periods/transitions.

When the dog is still growing I call it a puppy, when it´s done and reaches sexual maturity it is an adult imo.

It gets trained, and of course the expectations, standards and responsibilities grow accordingly over time. If not you are doing something (very) wrong.

I don´t really see how you could quantify that.

Maybe my mistake was putting an age on the question. I've read that dogs can mature at wildly different ages so that probably made the question a bit unanswerable.

It gets trained, and of course the expectations, standards and responsibilities grow accordingly over time.