BC Boards

Teaching competition obedience on your own

BCkris

Im very interested in competing in obedience, but im also a do it yourself kinda person. Am i crazy to think i can train my own BC for competition? I have no experience what so ever, but have educated myself through reading and videos on how to train for certain things. so far without distractions his heel work is going very well, he picked up the send away but still working on... Am i crazy or is it do-able?

Join the club! I'm working on the competition skills right now with the help of some online training buddies and a few email groups. I have attended comp. classes before and train dogs professionally so feel like I have the skills, especially if I supplement the home training with private lessons periodically. I'm moving in July so perhaps I can find classes then, but I'm shooting for our first trial in May (Maggie already has a solid foundation).

You'll be fine. I pretty much learnt everything I know from DVD's books and the internet. I only attended classes when my dog was a year old to work on distractions, even now I do all my training (agility) at home. And we are doing fantastic! We had our first comp last weekend and had many compliments and we are being featured on t.v. amongst other people from our club and Myla is only 20 mo. Our club president even came and said she is looking great. Sometimes if you know what to do then I believe it is better.

There are many people competing who train alone.