BC Boards

lung problems

Eileen Stein

This is somewhat O/T, because it's not about a border collie. A friend just wrote me that her borzoi was referred to the U Pa Emergency Veterinary Hospital overnight by our local emergency vet. "He has a collapsed lung with air in the chest cavity pushing on his heart. He will likely have surgery. Do you know anything about lung disease, problems or treatments?"

I have no knowledge at all about lung collapse in the absence of trauma. Does anyone else?

I took my cat Punkin in to get his teeth cleaned over a year ago and both of his lungs collapsed. The vet called and told me he would not breath on his own (he was still under the anesthesia) and to come say "goodbye". He gave him virtually no chance. He said we could fly him off for surgery but the chances of success were not very good.

By the time we got there he had taken a couple breaths on his own and the doc gave him a 10% of making it. I told him to wake him up and give him a chance, and let God decide. I went out and smoked a cigarette.

I came back in to a barely awake but breathing cat!

He had to syringe out a bunch of air from his insides but he still had air under his skin for something like two weeks. It was extremely strange to pet him on top of his head or back and feel all the air bubbles under his skin.

They don't know why his lungs collapsed. He was in ICU for a few days and recovered completely. His teeth need cleaning again and I think I'll dope him up some and do it myself.

Don't know if any of this helps, but miracles can happen. I hope one happens for your friend.