BC Boards

Pressure problems

Guest Lisa Bass

Guest Lisa Bass

Hi Carol -

I'm having some problems with getting a correct outrun and down from my young Pepper dog. She's 13 months old, I've been working her for about 4 months now, and we're seeing good progress, but she's got a couple of habits that I'm having trouble with.

First let me say that she's loose-eyed and at this point not terrifically assertive. She's quite keen to work, don't get me wrong, but she's not a pushy dog by any stretch. She will only rarely get sassy enough to try a tiny little grip - and when she does, it's the politest little grip you've ever seen. She always seems to be apologizing to the sheep for it at the same time she's doing it.

On the good side, she's very biddable and eager to please, and has great balance, flanks and is decently wide.

The field we practice in has heavy pressure from the barn, and during some of our earlier training sessions, the sheep got away from her and headed straight for it. Now she's absolutely dead convinced the sheep are going to get away, and she's bound and determined that that's not going to happen.

The problem is that she will rarely down at any point except when she is between the sheep and the barn. Say the barn is at the 12 o'clock position and I'm asking her to down at 9 when I'm at 3 - she'll look at me, then run to 12 o'clock, then down.

She also will not lift them from the correct position, but will lift from whatever point gets her between those pesky sheep and that darn barn.

The problem as I see it is that, in her way of thinking, she's right and I'm just a moron who's going to cause her to lose her sheep.

Now that she's got some experience under her belt, she isn't in real danger of losing her sheep any more - she just THINKS she is.

So what can I do to convince her that she can safely down and lift in the correct positions, without losing her sheep?